Sign Up   |  
Log In
Username:
Password:
Log In
  |   Contact Us

Oregon Marriage License Info

Home   |   Local Services   |   Reception Sites   |   Specials & Deals   |   Community   |   Marriage License   |   Wedding Blog   |   Link To Us   |   About Us
To be able to get married in the state of Oregon, you will need to obtain a marriage license. You can apply for an Oregon marriage license by going to the clerk’s office in the county you are going to have your wedding ceremony. You may find the clerk’s office located in the county probate court or circuit court.

There is a one time fee of $60 for an Oregon marriage license. No exceptions or waivers are available for the marriage license fee; there are also no extensions ore refunds once you have been issued a marriage license in Oregon. Only cash payments are accepted. When applying for a marriage license that is valid statewide in Oregon, there are no requirements for you or your spouse to be a current or previous resident of the state. Once you have paid for your marriage license, you will have to undergo a mandatory three day waiting period before you can receive it. In most states, Saturdays, Sundays and holidays are not counted towards the three day waiting period. The day that you apply for the marriage license is usually not counted towards the three day waiting period either.

After the three day waiting period, you will receive your Oregon marriage license. You will then be able to get married right away, if you wanted, being that there is no waiting period for this. There is an age requirement for getting married without parental consent. You must be 18 years of age and you will need to bring a birth certificate to verify this. If one or both of you are under the legal age of 18, you will need to bring in a signed parental consent form for verification. You will also need to bring a certified copy of your birth certificate.

There are no requirements for you and your partner to get a blood test or physical exam in the state of Oregon for a marriage license. After you receive your marriage license, it will expire 60 days after its issue date. If either you or your partner were previously married, but are now widowed or divorced, you will need to provide the date of the divorce or death of spouse. You will also need to bring copies of the death certificate or divorce decree. These two can be obtained by ordering online if you don’t have copies.

A marriage certificate will be issue to you after the wedding ceremony (a piece of paper). This will serve the purpose as proof of your legal Oregon marriage. You will need to present this to government agencies, so that you can have your last name changed (i.e. motor vehicles and the social security office). You will also need to present the marriage certificate to non government institutions, such as banks, employers, credit card companies, memberships and others that you have done business with.

A legal name change kit can be provided to you to help speed along the name change process. You can either complete all of the forms prior to or after the wedding ceremony. It is recommended that you complete the forms before the marriage takes place to better convenience you.

Marriages that are not allowed in the state of Oregon include same sex marriages, cousin marriages, common law marriages and marriages by proxy.
 
 
Advertise | Business Login | Local Services | Specials & Deals | Community | Marriage License | Wedding Blog | Link To Us | About Us